Midtown East oh how you’ve fed me…

Hey foodies! Its been awhile, but I’m back! This past semester I interned at a television show that taped in Midtown East! I fell in love with that part of NYC and the food there never failed to please. So here are some places I highly recommend, well my favorites for breakfast, lunch, and well dinner:

Breakfast:

1) 696 deli (696 3rd ave, ny, ny 10017)

Not only does 696 have affordable breakfast which includes a bacon egg and cheese for about 3.50 to an omelette for $5 tops but there food is great and fresh! I’ve never had a bad experience there and would go there for a hearty breakfast to start my day! FYI they also serve lunch I believe after 11 am!

Lunch/Dinner:

2) Potbelly Sandwich Shop (150 E 44th st, ny, ny 10017)

Potbelly is a chain but its definitely carries some of the best sandwiches I’ve had in my life. They have everything from a meatball sub to the best roast beef sandwiches for just $6! You can also add extra meat for less than a dollar extra! They also have great cookies and chips you can get with it!

3) Blarney Stone Pub (710 3rd Ave #1, ny, ny 10017)

Want something filling for 5 bucks and under? Well my favorite at Blarney was there rotisserie chicken with two sides. It is enough for two days and is super affordable. They have everything from burgers to chicken fingers and anything you can imagine would be at a bar. Blarney has always given me great service on my lunch break!

4) Sophie’s Cuban Cuisine (369 Lexington Ave. ny, ny, 10017)

Want amazing Cuban food in the city? Want some Ropa Vieja to keep warm on these cold days, go to Sophies! For $9 you can get lunch for two days there too. Its only the best Cuban cuisine, you get a choice of an entree and two sides. I highly recommend getting some empanadas if you can as well! I love this place!!! Order ahead if you can and it’ll be ready when you get there!

5) Pizza Rustica (817 2nd ave, ny, ny, 10017)

Pizza Rustica has amazing pizza for one and they also have an affordable lunch special! For $6-7 you can get an entree and a pasta and veggie side. They fill the container so you have plenty of food! I love there pizza and dishes and want to try there dinner dishes eventually!

Those are top 5! If you go to any of the places I mentioned let me know and what you thought!

More blogs to come!

Keep eating!! 😀

20120113-104721.jpg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , by smallchickbigdeals. Bookmark the permalink.

About smallchickbigdeals

Hi I’m Sara Monica, founder of Small Chick Big Deals. I was born and raised by the Jersey Shore. I just graduated from Fairleigh Dickinson University in Madison, NJ with a Communications major and minoring in Public Relations and Sociology. When I’m not working, I’m usually out with my boyfriend, friends or family having a good time. Those times usually include eating one way or another. This blog is dedicated to my best and worst restaurant experiences, personal quick & easy recipes, and more! I love to eat and I know first-hand its possible to eat great food at a legitimate price. FYI most the places mentioned in my blogs are in the NJ/NY metro area since thats my hood Happy Eating!!

2 thoughts on “Midtown East oh how you’ve fed me…

  1. CIBO – The Culinary Institute of BOlogna For Foodies offers unique cooking classes and adventures, Our hands-on you will be instructed by a restaurant owner and chef or one of our skilled restauant trained chefs.

    CIBO uses a fully equipped restaurant kitchen in which “foodies” from all parts of the world learn how to prepare authentic Emilia Romagna cuisine. More than just food preparation lessons, spending a day with us promises to be much more. We create an intimate connection for you to our wonderful town of Bologna; her way of life, history and tastes.

    We will begin the day’s adventure early in the morning by meeting in a local café. There you will enjoy complimentary cappuccino and brioche. We will outline the day’s menu and then we will proceed to the famous Bologna market. Along the way to the market we will outline for you, our “guests and students”, the history of the town and the several monuments that we will pass upon our way.
    You will explore this wonderful market with us as we purchase and explain the various ingredients needed for our culinary creations.

    We will sample Salumi, Parmigiana Reggiano Cheese, Prosciutto Di Parma and other locally produced delights. Leaving the market, we will begin what I know will be a memorable journey into the preparation of authentic Emilia Romania cuisine.

    In the morning we will make regional pasta by hand using the authentic, “handed down”, “Mattarello” (rolling pin). Each participant will make his/her own dish of pasta. My classes ARE NOT DEMONSTRATIONS but rather true hands-on experiences!

    Next, we will have lunch, eating the pastas we made accompanied by our local wines. In the afternoon we will begin the preparations for the evening’s meal. This meal will include an antipasti, salad, main dish, side dishes and dessert and of course, more regional wines!

    If you have any particular dishes you would like to prepare or any culinary techniques you would like to learn please write to us. We will try our best to incorporate those requests into our program. We can also cook seafood recipes as your taste may desire.

    Please do not hesitate to respond and tell me about your specific requests. If you have a food allergy or a particular request, please tell us and we will design a program to fit your individual needs.

    As in all my restaurants, I do not have customers. I prefer to think of you as guests. Our goal is not merely to meet your needs but rather to exceed your expectations. I look forward to meeting you and sharing my knowledge and love of Italian food.

    Sincerely,

    Doct. Stefano Corvucci
    CIBO/Trattoria Del Rosso
    Via Augusto Righi 30B
    40126 Bologna
    http://cookingclassesinbologna.com
    cookingclassesinbologna@gmail.cm

  2. Pingback: #SCBDExclusive: Potbelly to Open in Paramus this Tuesday! | smallchickbigdeals

Leave a Reply

