696 Deli never fails…

So for old times sake, I decided to take a stroll down Midtown East with my other half. We just came from a long commute from the Garden State to New York City and were ready for lunch. As we walked down East 44th, my other half mentioned he’d like to go to a real, good, hearty New York Deli. Before we could even step into another deli I insisted he follow me around the corner to 696 Deli and lets just say he was more than satisfied with his lunch!

696 Deli – 696 3rd Ave (3rd Ave. between 43rd St. & 44th St.)

I mentioned 696 in a review earlier highlighting my top 5 places in Midtown East, but after going there again yesterday I was reminded why its so good and figured I should go in a little more depth. If you did not read my previous blog, this is how the ratings go. I will give the places I go a rating of 1-5 on customer service, cleanliness,  atmosphere, how the food is (ie: quality & taste). The score as a whole will be judged out of 20 (since there are 4 categories that can get a rating of 1-5)! Last I will tell you if I thought it was good enough to go back. (This will be featured in my restaurant reviews as well- FYI). As always I’ll mention what I recommend, etc. Ready? Here we go!

Customer Service: 5 — I was reminded once again how customer friendly they are, they were attentive when they took our order and kind. It wasn’t too crowded either so we had no problems. They even brought our food to the table we sat at in back instead of calling us when they were ready. The cashier was kind as always and recognized me and their prices are very people friendly so they get a good crowd of people.

Cleanliness: 5– For a deli its pretty clean and very organized by food, snacks, drinks, and the kitchen is organized as well. Its so easy to order!

Atmosphere: 4.5 — The section to order is nice-sized but the tables to eat in back is tucked in and doesn’t have tons of room. When I interned it was very friendly for to-go orders which is what most people do. But eating in back was comfy enough and the people who sat next to us were regulars and friendly.

Food quality & Taste: 5 — As I mentioned in my other blog that 696 is mentioned in, there breakfast sandwiches are the best around, perfect sized and just delicious. But this time around we had lunch. My other half had the Mexican Philly Hero which a Mexican version of a Philly Cheese Steak and he loved it. It was a nice size and you could probably save half of it for another day if you were not incredibly hungry. My other half was very satisfied and glad I brought him there. As for me, I decided the Cuban Hero was my first lunch dish at 696. I liked it a lot and would take half with me home in the future. It definitely hit the spot  and I was glad to be back.

Score: 19.5/20 — Would I recommend it? Is that even a question? YES!!! If you are in Midtown East go to 696, it will fulfill your needs for breakfast, lunch, dinner, or even a late night snack! Try a hero, they are only $6.95 or less a pop and are portioned enough for two meals if you can’t eat it all in one shot. If you are there early and need breakfast grab a Bacon, Egg, and Cheese, I used to get it on a toasted bagel and it was delicious and won’t burn a whole in your pocket! What can beat that?!

Go give it a try & let me know if you agree, as always keep eating!

– Small Chick 🙂

This entry was posted in food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , by smallchickbigdeals. Bookmark the permalink.

About smallchickbigdeals

Hi I’m Sara Monica, founder of Small Chick Big Deals. I was born and raised by the Jersey Shore. I just graduated from Fairleigh Dickinson University in Madison, NJ with a Communications major and minoring in Public Relations and Sociology. When I’m not working, I’m usually out with my boyfriend, friends or family having a good time. Those times usually include eating one way or another. This blog is dedicated to my best and worst restaurant experiences, personal quick & easy recipes, and more! I love to eat and I know first-hand its possible to eat great food at a legitimate price. FYI most the places mentioned in my blogs are in the NJ/NY metro area since thats my hood Happy Eating!!

Leave a Reply

