Tonic takes Times Square ‘tourist’ cuisine to new heights…

These past two weeks I’ve had the pleasure of enjoying a meal or two & some delicious cocktails at Tonic Times Square. I’m not one for going to “tourist” places in Times Square, but I’m pretty happy a friend lead me that way. I was really impressed by the food & cocktails. I was fortunate enough to get in touch with a mixologist there who took care of me. Lets just say, I have some surprises coming up for you readers and you won’t be disappointed. In the meantime, let me tell you about my experience at Tonic Times Square…

Tonic Times Square (727 Seventh Avenue, NY, NY)

Customer Service: 5- I arrived around 7 pm which gave me a good hour before happy hour ended. Everyone was friendly and helped me as needed.

Atmosphere: 5- It has a very typical Times Square to it. It’s in the middle of Times Square on 7th between 49th & 50th. It’s a huge restaurant and perfect, fun place to check out a game or enjoy a date.

Food/Cocktail Quality: 5- When I came in they still had Voli happy hour specials. I got the “Big Sexy” and loved it, even ended up having not one but two. The first time I came in I ordered their signature tonic wings. For $10 you get 10 nice sized wings. I loved the tonic sauce and was pretty impressed. They actually really work hard on how the food tastes and looks. I wouldn’t call Tonic’s food a tourist trap at all. The next time I came I decided to try the Grilled Steak Skewers since I love steak. They were $12, the Chimichurri sauce is delicious and has a little kick to it. Both the wings & skewers were appetizers but suitable for a meal. The skewers could’ve used a side but regardless I was not disappointed. All I need is a good dish & cocktail & I’m set and I got that at Tonic.

Price: $-$$: Depending on what you get and when you go it can get pricey but for New York the appetizers, salads, and sandwiches are decent priced. During happy hour drinks range from $3-7 which is a huge deal and they aren’t ‘well drinks’. The happy hour on Monday’s includes brands such as Voli and more.

Final Score: 15/15- I was pretty impressed with Tonic’s menu and selection. The food is delicious and is presented just a great. If your ever in Times Square I highly recommend it!

Cocktails at Tonic

Steak skewers at Tonic

Let me know if you agree!

In the meantime, happy eating & drinking!

’til next time…

 

This entry was posted in bars, deals, food, happy hour, nyc, Small Chick Big Deals and tagged , , , , , by smallchickbigdeals. Bookmark the permalink.

About smallchickbigdeals

Hi I’m Sara Monica, founder of Small Chick Big Deals. I was born and raised by the Jersey Shore. I just graduated from Fairleigh Dickinson University in Madison, NJ with a Communications major and minoring in Public Relations and Sociology. When I’m not working, I’m usually out with my boyfriend, friends or family having a good time. Those times usually include eating one way or another. This blog is dedicated to my best and worst restaurant experiences, personal quick & easy recipes, and more! I love to eat and I know first-hand its possible to eat great food at a legitimate price. FYI most the places mentioned in my blogs are in the NJ/NY metro area since thats my hood Happy Eating!!

Leave a Reply

