#SCBD Exclusive Interview with Marlo Scott, Owner of Sweet Revenge!

A few weeks ago, I had the opportunity to interview Marlo Scott,  the owner of Sweet Revenge, a restaurant with a cupcake and wine bar in the West Village of NYC. Find out how the idea of Sweet Revenge came to life and more as we discussed life, baking, and her path to success.

instagram m & s

SCBD: Marlo, thank you for letting me have this opportunity to interview you. What is your favorite cupcake you serve or still serve at Sweet Revenge? What wine would you pair it with?

MS: The ‘Sweet Revenge’, which is peanut butter cake with chocolate ganache and crumbled peanuts. I’d pair it with an Argentinean Malbec. It tastes like an adult peanut butter & jelly, it’s delicious.

SCBD: Sweet Revenge is a restaurant with a cupcake and wine bar; you serve brunch on the weekend as well as breakfast & lunch during the week. What’s your favorite dish?

MS: My favorite dish is the Cuernavaca Salad with chicken. The truffled mac & cheese is a runner up, too. Our savory oatmeal is also a great brunch dish.

SCBD: I tried Sweet Revenge cupcakes a few weeks ago when I was in the area and it was unlike any cupcake I’ve had. What would you say makes your recipe different?

MS: Our secret is Mexican Vanilla, it is used in all of our cupcake recipes. Our recipes only use quality ingredients.

SCBD: In three words, describe Sweet Revenge for someone who might not have heard of it?

MS: I actually have four words that come to mind- sexy, playful, indulgent, escapist.

SCBD: Prior to opening Sweet Revenge you were working in the corporate world for media companies. What do you love best about having your own business?

MS: I love the freedom I have to take my ideas and bring them to life.

SCBD: On that note, Sweet Revenge is a huge success. You opened the restaurant & wine bar five years ago after being laid off from your job. But unlike most people you had this plan in action. Why do you think it’s so important to have a back up plan?

MS: Sweet Revenge was always in my plan. I am always thinking of different ideas and business plans and I still am.

SCBD: Do you still apply what you used in the media world to your business? How so?

MS: As an in-house banking analyst I had to develop pitches. I was able to use that skill when it came time to present for a SBA loan. When I worked for Time Inc. I lead a sales team which prepared me to lead my own team. 

SCBD: You are constantly speaking at different colleges and universities in the city about entrepreneurship, why do you think it’s so important to give back?

MS: I believe what you put out, you get back. I am grateful I always had mentors to help me. It’s fun to connect people and network. It feels great to be able to return the favor.

SCBD: What’s the best advice you got as a business professional, from who?

MS: Advice I took to heart was that when it comes to picking out a concept make sure it’s something you can live in 24/7. One of my mentors told me, “Sleep on it, don’t respond until you’re calm and level-headed.” In any business you always have to remember to slow down and think about your decisions rationally.

SCBD: What advice do you have for the young professionals out there who are looking to start their own business?

MS: Write a business plan and do your homework– that way you can build it, manifest it and make it a reality. This sets you up for success and strategically helps other buy in and believe in it.

SCBD: What’s the best part of living and working with cupcakes nonetheless in New York City?

MS: Satisfaction in coming here and see people enjoy it. It’s incredibly rewarding when I look at where I came from. I love that I can provide a delicious escape for others. I knew it was possible and now I witness it everyday.

SCBD: What’s your life motto?

MS: When I first started Sweet Revenge my motto was, “The sweetest revenge was to live life happily.” Since then the motto I live by is, “Live life deliciously.”  I believe we all can follow our dreams and make the impossible, possible if we are motivated enough. 

Delicious Brunch at Sweet Revenge:

12 photo 2

cupcakephoto 5yum1

M & S 1  M & S 3 MArlo & I

Leave a Reply

