#SCBD Quick & Easy Homemade Mac & Cheese Recipe

So I’ve decided its time to get a little personal with you all, 2013 has been quite a wild ride for me thus far. My year was off to a great start until I got laid off from my job in the beginning of the year. I am currently seeking a full time editorial, public relations, social media, and/or television production position. If you know of any opportunities available please email me at sara@smallchickbigdeals.com, it will be greatly appreciated.  You can  view my LinkedIn profile, here. I am blessed to have the opportunity to work where I did and am looking forward to seeing what big opportunity is next.

So when I’m not writing lately, I’ve been job hunting, in and out of the city. I feel incredibly blessed that I can write here for you all on Small Chick Big Deals and everything its brought me and the team. I have so many deals, discounts, reviews, and interviews on the way for you all and the team has tons of posts up their sleeves as well.  As you can see I’ve been working on more recipes lately. Well, on top of the many mishaps that have thrown my life a little of track lately, something tragic happened this week on top of that. My informal adviser who guided me throughout college and helped me with my schedule, passed away. Well, she was actually murdered, you can read the story, here. It’s tragic and I am still in shock, probably will be for awhile. But this has only reminded me to keep my head up and stay strong. These past couple weeks have been hard, but I know Rose (who passed away) would tell me to keep it up, not give up and keep it moving. She always believed in me and I am so thankful I knew her as long as I did.

So the day I found out she passed away I went to the grocery store, got some ingredients and planned on making dinner that night. I made Homemade Mac & Cheese to go with steak I bought. My Mac & Cheese recipe is so easy to make and will make you never want to buy that Kraft crap again. This recipe brought me the comfort I needed this week. I dedicate this recipe to Rosaria Andraka, my longtime adviser who was always there for me. RIP Rose ❤

mac and cheese

Homemade Mac & Cheese- yum!

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups of pasta, I used Penne
  • 2 handfuls (or cups) of shredded cheese or cheeses of your choice, I used Mozzarella & Sharp Cheddar
  • 1 cup of half & half
  • 1 cup of skim milk
  • 4 Tablespoons of Butter
  • Salt, for taste

Instructions:

  1. Cook pasta as directed on box, strain so there is no water
  2. Put pasta back in the pot you cooked it in
  3. Add half & half and milk
  4. Turn on burner, leave on low-medium heat
  5. Add butter
  6. Mix so that is combined
  7. Add cheese
  8. Mix until sauce thickens, feel free to add more cheese as needed.
  9. When it’s to your liking– stir, serve, and enjoy!

Nothing screams comfort like Mac & Cheese, not to mention you have tons of leftovers and can always make different varieties of it. Next time, I plan on using bacon and cooking it in the oven the old fashioned way. This is just a quicker, healthier, and cheesier adaptation!

Happy Eating! 😀

Sara SCBD Logo Edited

Leave a Reply

