Salsa Chicken & Chicken Street Tacos

I could eat Mexican food every single day of my life.  If I was in prison and had to choose my last meal, it would probably be Carne Asada street tacos.  One of the best perks of living in Southern California is that we have delicious, authentic Mexican food on what seems like every street corner.  I can’t complain.

This chicken recipe is great because you can throw it in a crock pot with a jar of salsa and forget about it for a few hours.   Once I make a batch of it, I can use the chicken throughout the week for a number of meals.  On top of eggs, mixed in a salad, or maybe even just eating it with a fork out of a storage container.  It’s that good.  First, I am going to tell you how to prep the chicken.  It’s almost unreal how easy it is.  Below that, you can find a taco recipe I made with it.

Salsa Chicken

Ingredients:

  • 3-6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts – as desired, I’d recommend doing 6 so that you have tons of delicious chicken for the week
  • Your favorite salsa, the amount to use depends.  You want to make sure that when you put it all in the crock pot, the salsa covers the chicken.  2-3 small jars should work.
  1. Dump everything in a crockpot and set it on low.
  2. After about six hours, you should notice that the chicken is nice and cooked.
  3. Take a piece out and test it.  You should be able to slice it apart with a fork, like soft butter.
  4. Put the chicken (sliced or whole) in some tupperware and use it when you need it.  I prefer to shred it with a fork before storing it up.

Street Tacos

I came up with this on a whim.  I had shredded salsa chicken in the fridge, fresh corn tortillas from my favorite local Mexican market, and avocado on hand.  Since the chicken was made beforehand, this literally took ten minutes – if even that- to throw together.  Perks of making mass amounts of food ahead of time?  I think yes.

photo 3

Marysa’s Street Chicken Tacos

Another staple item that I keep on hand is a bag of coleslaw mix.  While I don’t use the dressing, the veggie mix itself is great to saute for breakfast, or mix into a salad for lunch/dinner.  I’d like to get into the habit of slicing up cabbage and having it stored, but for now, this saves me tons of time since I use it so often.

Ingredients:

  • 3 small, street size corn tortillas
  • 1/2 cup of salsa chicken
  • 1 cup of sliced cabbage/cole slaw mix sans dressing
  • Avocado (as desired)
  • Hot sauce

Instructions:

  1. Place the cabbage on the tacos first.
  2. Then distribute the chicken.
  3. Top with as much avocado as desired and put hot sauce (my favorite is Cholula) on top.
  4. Since the cabbage is likely to be cold, throw the finished tacos in the microwave for about 15 seconds.
  5. Devour.

photo 2

Leave a Reply

