Overnight Pizza: The Gluten-Free Edition

When I first told my friends and neighbors that I was having two gluten-free New York style pizzas delivered to my front door from Chicago, IL, they were in complete disbelief. I mean, can you really blame them? The idea of having a pizza, whether it be gluten-free or not, delivered anywhere in the world via Fed-Ex sounds completely crazy, right? But the idea actually exists and is pulled off extremely well by the folks over at City Pizza Overnight.

me-and-pizzas

I have to admit, throughout the process, I was quite nervous about ordering these pizzas. I’ve never ordered food on the internet before, and sometimes you just hear the craziest stories! But Adam, the owner of City Pizza Overnight, really works with you to make sure you get the full experience! I think I can speak for Sara, Elizabeth, and I when I say that he really went above and beyond in making sure we were comfortable throughout the entire process. Especially in my case, I mean anyone who is able to work with my allergies and gluten-sensitivity without getting frustrated deserves an A+ in my book!

In addition to the excellent customer service, the delivery was quick and easy! We even knew exactly when our pizzas were arriving via e-mail and the pizza arrived right on time! We didn’t even have to sign for it, which is a huge plus for anyone who can’t be around for the pizza’s arrival.

prepizza

In my case, the pizzas arrived at 3pm, so I had to freeze it for a few hours before digging in! I received two pizzas, one regular and one pepperoni. My family and I decided to try the pepperoni first, because it’s been a really long time since my gluten-free mother or I have had a pepperoni slice! Once dinner time came around, we popped the pie in the oven, and 10 minutes later we had ourselves a mini pizza party!

pre-pepperonipepperoni-pizza

The pepperoni pizza was delicious! It felt like I was eating a regular pepperoni pizza slice! Unlike the homemade gluten-free recipes I’ve tried, you can’t even tell it’s gluten-free! Out of the two, I think the pepperoni pizza was my favorite just because it felt like the old non-gluten free times. The only thing I disliked about it was that it was really greasy (especially compared to the regular) but even that wasn’t a HUGE problem for me. It was expected, actually!

pre-plainregular-pizza

The next up was the regular, which I tried with my boyfriend Luke this past Sunday. For the purpose of this site, I tried mine plain and with garlic powder. My boyfriend, on the other hand, decided to get creative and slather bacon all over his pizza. Regardless of our different concoctions, we couldn’t stop raving about how delicious the pizza tasted! He even argued with me vehemently about saving a slice for my mom. He wanted to eat 5-6 slices, it was that good!

reg-pizzabacon-pizza

Overall, my experience with City Pizza Overnight was nothing but excellent. The service was fast and easy and the pizza was delicious, even days after delivery! I am already recommending City Pizza Overnight to my friends and family and highly considering ordering again next time I have a small get together!

2 thoughts on “Overnight Pizza: The Gluten-Free Edition

  1. Pingback: Greek Pizza | Gourmet On The Go Blog

  2. Pingback: #SCBD takes on City Pizza Overnight! | smallchickbigdeals

Leave a Reply

