Marysa’s Lazy Dog Cafe Remake: Togarashi Edamame

Earlier this month, I went to Lazy Dog Cafe for the first time (and went back for my second visit less than two weeks later!)  There are a handful of locations throughout Southern California and I had always heard great things about the food.  It exceeded my expectations.

A little birdie told me that their spicy edamame appetizer was insanely good.  I add cayenne pepper/hot sauce to most things I eat, and edamame is one of my favorite foods. Let’s just say that I had cravings for their edamame days after my visit.  Cravings so bad, I scoured the internet for the ingredients used in the LDC recipe.  The star ingredient is a Japanese spice called Togarashi.  It’s hot and spicy and flavorful in all the right ways.

photo 3

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups edamame, in shell (I used the frozen kind)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp minced garlic
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp rice vinegar
  • Togarashi, as desired (I used close to 1.5 tbsp)

Instructions:

  1. Cook your edamame in boiling water until the beans are soft and edible.  Drain and run through cold water.  Let cool.
  2. In a skillet, heat the garlic.  Then add the olive oil.  Stir for about 30 seconds and then add in your edamame.  Mix together for about a minute until coated.
  3. Add in your soy sauce and rice vinegar and mix for about 2 minutes.
  4. Then, start adding your spice.  Stir in the skillet until the edamame are completely coated.  Taste one (or three) just to make sure they’ve got the right amount of kick.  Serve warm.
Leave a Reply

